Revenue CAGR
FY2011 to FY2025. Revenue rose only 3.6% in total.
Fifteen years of revenue architecture, functional expense, inventory economics, balance-sheet resilience, and industry context turn the filings into a decision-ready baseline for portfolio transformation.
Auditable source period across fifteen filings.
Values are presented in millions of nominal dollars unless noted.
FY2011 to FY2025. Revenue rose only 3.6% in total.
Functional expense grew about six times faster than revenue.
The third consecutive annual deficit in the source series.
Down from the $10.52M peak reported in FY2022.
Hover or focus any annual point for the filing value. The crossing pattern shows why a portfolio-growth plan must manage both topline and delivery economics.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
Bars show reported revenue less total functional expense. Investment gains can materially affect individual years, especially FY2022.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
Growth quality matters. A one-time gain can create a strong reported year without changing recurring operating economics.
Concentration is visible in the filing history. Membership strengthened while education and communications finished below their FY2011 levels.
Cost modeling needs a clean definition. Form 990 inventory COGS is not total organizational COGS, and SG&A is not reported as one filing line.
The balance sheet is still a strategic asset. It also shows less cushion than at the FY2022 peak, increasing the value of staged investment gates.
The detailed lines reveal which engines grew, contracted, or depended on non-operating gains. Missing FY2012 line detail is retained as missing rather than imputed.
Membership grew from $4.10M to $6.00M. Education ended at $2.53M, and communications ended at $0.87M.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
The filing categories do not map one-to-one to the eight future portfolio verticals. This is the historical bridge, not a substitute for the desired-mix model.
Membership is the anchor. It represents roughly half of FY2025 reported revenue.
Education recovered from the FY2018 reset, but remained about 37% below FY2011.
Investment and gains are volatile. FY2022 included about $3.15M, making that year unsuitable as a recurring run-rate baseline.
The filing supports two distinct lenses: total functional expense from Part IX and inventory COGS from Part VIII line 10b. The latter must not be presented as total AAHA cost of goods sold.
The scale difference is the point. Inventory COGS is a narrow product-cost line; functional expense includes the organization’s full program, management, and fundraising cost structure.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
Gross inventory sales less inventory COGS equals the reported net inventory contribution before broader operating expenses.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
Part VIII line 10b, not total organizational COGS.
The gross sales base associated with inventory COGS.
56.4% of gross inventory sales before overhead.
Build it from Part IX functions and internal management accounts.
Modeling guardrail: future opportunity assumptions should separately capture direct COGS and incremental SG&A. The historical workbook preserves filing labels so the model does not manufacture an SG&A number that AAHA did not report.
Assets, liabilities, and net assets describe how much room exists to fund transformation, absorb volatility, and stage portfolio bets.
Hover or focus for annual values. Net assets are calculated as total assets less total liabilities.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
FY2022 peak: net assets reached about $10.52M after a strong investment-gain year.
FY2025 position: assets were $14.81M, liabilities $8.91M, and net assets $5.90M.
Liability intensity: liabilities equaled about 60.2% of FY2025 assets, up from 39.6% in FY2011.
Portfolio implication: use stage gates, explicit kill criteria, and cash requirements for each selected offering rather than funding all opportunities at once.
The proposal compared approximately 2005–2024 endpoint growth: total pet industry $36B to $152B, veterinary services $19B to $65B, and AAHA revenue $10.2M to $12.1M.
AAHA actual filing data begin in FY2011. Industry curves are geometric illustrations between sourced endpoints, not annual reported observations.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
An illustrative 15% revenue CAGR doubles revenue in about five years while a 6% cost CAGR raises cost by roughly one-third. This is a strategic discipline, not an approved budget.
Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.
Total pet industry: about 7.9% implied CAGR across the cited endpoints.
Veterinary services: about 6.7% implied CAGR across the cited endpoints.
AAHA FY2011–FY2025: about 0.25% filing-based revenue CAGR.
Decision rule: selected opportunities must produce enough scalable gross contribution to change the portfolio, not merely add activity.
Every annual value below is retained in the frozen history contract with filing definitions, source provenance, and calculation notes.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Functional expense | Surplus / (deficit) | Inventory COGS | Assets | Liabilities | Net assets |
|---|
Fifteen-year structured dataset, filing-line definitions, derived metrics, and source notes.
Controlled SharePoint copy for source-sensitive financial work.
Revenue follows Form 990 Part VIII. Functional expense follows Part IX. Inventory COGS follows Part VIII line 10b. Net assets equal assets less liabilities.
Governance guardrail: These values are frozen from the immutable canonical 8484 source. Inventory COGS is not total organizational COGS, and SG&A is not reported as one filing line.