Skip to content
Lima Consulting Group
Public working preview

AAHA FINANCIAL RECORD · FORM 990 HISTORY

Financial History

Fifteen years of revenue architecture, functional expense, inventory economics, balance-sheet resilience, and industry context turn the filings into a decision-ready baseline for portfolio transformation.

FY2011-25

Auditable source period across fifteen filings.
Values are presented in millions of nominal dollars unless noted.

Executive readout

A stable topline, a faster cost base, and a widening transformation gap

0.25%

Revenue CAGR

FY2011 to FY2025. Revenue rose only 3.6% in total.

1.50%

Expense CAGR

Functional expense grew about six times faster than revenue.

-$2.36M

FY2025 deficit

The third consecutive annual deficit in the source series.

$5.90M

FY2025 net assets

Down from the $10.52M peak reported in FY2022.

Revenue and expense have separated

Hover or focus any annual point for the filing value. The crossing pattern shows why a portfolio-growth plan must manage both topline and delivery economics.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

Revenue finished FY2025 only modestly above FY2011 while functional expense increased faster.AAHA Form 990 history, FY2011–FY2025. Revenue: Part VIII; functional expense: Part IX.
View accessible source table
Revenue and expense have separated source values

Annual operating result is increasingly negative

Bars show reported revenue less total functional expense. Investment gains can materially affect individual years, especially FY2022.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

The source series ends with three consecutive annual deficits.AAHA Form 990 history, FY2011–FY2025. Calculated as reported revenue less functional expense.
View accessible source table
Annual operating result is increasingly negative source values

What leaders should carry into the portfolio model

Growth quality matters. A one-time gain can create a strong reported year without changing recurring operating economics.

Concentration is visible in the filing history. Membership strengthened while education and communications finished below their FY2011 levels.

Cost modeling needs a clean definition. Form 990 inventory COGS is not total organizational COGS, and SG&A is not reported as one filing line.

The balance sheet is still a strategic asset. It also shows less cushion than at the FY2022 peak, increasing the value of staged investment gates.

Revenue architecture

The mix changed even when the total did not

The detailed lines reveal which engines grew, contracted, or depended on non-operating gains. Missing FY2012 line detail is retained as missing rather than imputed.

Recurring and episodic revenue lines

Membership grew from $4.10M to $6.00M. Education ended at $2.53M, and communications ended at $0.87M.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

Membership is the recurring anchor; investment income and gains are episodic and should not become run-rate assumptions.AAHA Form 990 Part VIII history, FY2011–FY2025. FY2012 membership, education, and communications detail is not reported in the frozen source.
View accessible source table
Recurring and episodic revenue lines source values

FY2025 revenue composition

The filing categories do not map one-to-one to the eight future portfolio verticals. This is the historical bridge, not a substitute for the desired-mix model.

Membership49.5%
Education20.9%
Communications7.1%
Royalties7.7%
Net inventory sales3.4%
Investment and gains9.7%
Other revenue1.7%

Membership is the anchor. It represents roughly half of FY2025 reported revenue.

Education recovered from the FY2018 reset, but remained about 37% below FY2011.

Investment and gains are volatile. FY2022 included about $3.15M, making that year unsuitable as a recurring run-rate baseline.

Expense and cost architecture

Separate organizational expense from inventory COGS

The filing supports two distinct lenses: total functional expense from Part IX and inventory COGS from Part VIII line 10b. The latter must not be presented as total AAHA cost of goods sold.

Functional expense versus inventory COGS

The scale difference is the point. Inventory COGS is a narrow product-cost line; functional expense includes the organization’s full program, management, and fundraising cost structure.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

Inventory COGS cannot stand in for total AAHA COGS or SG&A.AAHA Form 990 history, FY2011–FY2025. Functional expense: Part IX; inventory COGS: Part VIII line 10b.
View accessible source table
Functional expense versus inventory COGS source values

Inventory economics

Gross inventory sales less inventory COGS equals the reported net inventory contribution before broader operating expenses.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

FY2025 gross inventory margin was $0.410M, or 56.4% of gross inventory sales, before overhead.AAHA Form 990 Part VIII line 10 history, FY2011–FY2025.
View accessible source table
Inventory economics source values
$0.318M

FY2025 inventory COGS

Part VIII line 10b, not total organizational COGS.

$0.728M

FY2025 gross inventory sales

The gross sales base associated with inventory COGS.

$0.410M

FY2025 gross inventory margin

56.4% of gross inventory sales before overhead.

Not filed

Single SG&A total

Build it from Part IX functions and internal management accounts.

Modeling guardrail: future opportunity assumptions should separately capture direct COGS and incremental SG&A. The historical workbook preserves filing labels so the model does not manufacture an SG&A number that AAHA did not report.

Balance-sheet resilience

The investment cushion peaked in FY2022 and has since narrowed

Assets, liabilities, and net assets describe how much room exists to fund transformation, absorb volatility, and stage portfolio bets.

Assets, liabilities, and net assets

Hover or focus for annual values. Net assets are calculated as total assets less total liabilities.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

Net assets peaked at approximately $10.52M in FY2022 and ended FY2025 at $5.90M.AAHA Form 990 balance-sheet history, FY2011–FY2025. Net assets are calculated as assets less liabilities.
View accessible source table
Assets, liabilities, and net assets source values

Resilience signals

FY2022 peak: net assets reached about $10.52M after a strong investment-gain year.

FY2025 position: assets were $14.81M, liabilities $8.91M, and net assets $5.90M.

Liability intensity: liabilities equaled about 60.2% of FY2025 assets, up from 39.6% in FY2011.

Portfolio implication: use stage gates, explicit kill criteria, and cash requirements for each selected offering rather than funding all opportunities at once.

Industry and growth context

AAHA did not capture the category’s historical growth rate

The proposal compared approximately 2005–2024 endpoint growth: total pet industry $36B to $152B, veterinary services $19B to $65B, and AAHA revenue $10.2M to $12.1M.

Indexed historical growth

AAHA actual filing data begin in FY2011. Industry curves are geometric illustrations between sourced endpoints, not annual reported observations.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

Industry growth materially outpaced AAHA filing-based revenue growth over the historical comparison period.Industry endpoints: AAHA proposal evidence. AAHA series: Form 990 FY2011–FY2025. Industry curves are geometric illustrations, not reported annual observations.
View accessible source table
Indexed historical growth source values

The transformation growth discipline

An illustrative 15% revenue CAGR doubles revenue in about five years while a 6% cost CAGR raises cost by roughly one-third. This is a strategic discipline, not an approved budget.

Use the chart keyboard controls or the accessible source table to inspect every year.

The modeled spread illustrates the discipline required to change portfolio economics; it is not a forecast or approved budget.Illustrative indexed scenario: revenue CAGR 15%; cost CAGR 6%; base index 100.
View accessible source table
The transformation growth discipline source values

Why the gap matters

Total pet industry: about 7.9% implied CAGR across the cited endpoints.

Veterinary services: about 6.7% implied CAGR across the cited endpoints.

AAHA FY2011–FY2025: about 0.25% filing-based revenue CAGR.

Decision rule: selected opportunities must produce enough scalable gross contribution to change the portfolio, not merely add activity.

Detail and evidence

The audit trail behind the story

Every annual value below is retained in the frozen history contract with filing definitions, source provenance, and calculation notes.

Scroll for all filing columns
AAHA Form 990 financial history, FY2011–FY2025
Fiscal yearRevenueFunctional expenseSurplus / (deficit)Inventory COGSAssetsLiabilitiesNet assets

990 history workbook

Fifteen-year structured dataset, filing-line definitions, derived metrics, and source notes.

Restricted workbook copy

Controlled SharePoint copy for source-sensitive financial work.

Methodology

Revenue follows Form 990 Part VIII. Functional expense follows Part IX. Inventory COGS follows Part VIII line 10b. Net assets equal assets less liabilities.

Governance guardrail: These values are frozen from the immutable canonical 8484 source. Inventory COGS is not total organizational COGS, and SG&A is not reported as one filing line.

Scroll to Top